Tip: The main difference between deactivating and deleting a user is that a deactivated user can be reactivated while deleting a user is permanent. Keep in mind that if a user is deleted from the account and then needs to be added back to the account, they will be added as a brand new user.
Should I delete or deactivate my account?
When you stop using a social networking profile or website its a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. This will mean that your content is no longer live and should not be searchable online; it will also remove the risk of these accounts being used by others or hacked without you knowing.
What happens when I deactivate my FB account?
Deleting your Facebook account When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isnt gone—its just hidden. However, it is possible to delete your account permanently with no option for recovery.
What will happen if you deactivate your Messenger?
What happens after the deactivation process? You will be invisible in the Messenger app. No one will be seeing your profile in the app. No one will be able to communicate with you.